Phil & Mel In The Afternoon

Weekdays 3:00PM-7:00PM

(Photo by David McNew/Getty Images)

Wagging tails and tasty waves! Dozens of dogs will be hitting the beach for a surf competition in San Diego this weekend. According to the San Diego Union-Tribune, the 17th annual San Diego Surf Dog Surf-A-Thon is set for Sunday, September 18th.

Helen Woodward Animal Center’s annual Surf Dog Surf-a-Thon returns to Del Mar Dog Beach. The pups will be “hanging ten” in several heats with the winner being crowned Top Dog. There’s also a Freestyle Competition with humans joining in, as well as a Canine Costume Contest. The event raises money for various programs at the non-profit animal hospital and pet adoption center.

If you want to watch the Surf Dog Surf-a-Thon from home on Sunday, it will be live streamed at facebook.com/helenwoodwardanimalcenter and @HWAC on Instagram. The Freestyle Heats will start at 10:30 a.m. Pacific (1:30 p.m. Eastern) and the Best in Surf around 12:50 p.m. Pacific (3:50 p.m. Eastern). Here are some highlights from last year’s competition: